It’s Not Always About the Clothing

alt=high school clothing© Jose Martinez | Dreamstime Stock Photos

Clothes. It takes me 30 minutes sometimes just to find an outfit to wear to school. My clothes not only reflect how I am feeling on a particular day, but they also set the tone for my self-assurance while at school. It can be difficult, especially if you feel like your style will negatively call attention to yourself, or if you’re worried you appear different from everyone else. I have learned through experience that self-confidence is more important than any outfit; people will most likely remember you for the way you hold yourself, which is, at least in my case, changed depending on my clothing at that time.

What to Wear in High School

The other day, before my first, non-intentional party (see My First High School Party, post 2), I was trying to decide what to wear. I finally found something that I extremely liked and felt confident in, although it differed from what everyone I knew usually wore to casual events. After I was done, a few of my friends came over early, saw what I was wearing, and brought me back to my bedroom. They forced me to try on many short skirts and tank tops they retrieved from the depths of my closet, in the specifically for-warm-seasons area, even after I protested. I eventually traded my cute, slightly dressy button-down top for a tighter graphic tee to appease them, but I felt uncomfortable, notwithstanding their reassurances. By uncomfortable, I do not mean in the sense that they cause me any physical discomfort; the use of the word in this post reflects the mental or emotional discomfort they caused me, and how they made me feel unconfident or awkward. Throughout the party I regretted not wearing what I originally wanted, because what I wore didn’t affect others as much as it impacted me.

That is the reason why I wore that outfit to school today. I felt disappointed with myself for choosing to not wear it, just because my friends were pressuring me. I adored it, and I bore them differently, with more confidence.

The moral of this story is, do not alter or adjust your personal style based on others’ opinions or clothes. Never change your clothes based on other people’s styles of judgements. Also, don’t feel awkward when trying out a new look for yourself, or one that’s different from other people’s. Always wear what you want to wear, and what you feel the most comfortable in.

Don’t change who you are and want to be based off of someone else; the fact that one person can rock something doesn’t automatically mean that you will. If wearing tight clothes that your peers have, for example, makes you feel any less than what you want or deserve, they will cause you to act differently. It’s not usually about how your attire appears to other people, but about how you think you look. Just because one friend can feel comfortable in her clothes doesn’t mean her outfit is necessarily correct for you to wear. People that observe you at any given time will more likely remember how you held yourself, and the aura that which you presented to others. Confident and self-assured people stand out, and are remembered by others not for their clothes necessarily, but for the way in which they wear those clothes.

Comment Your Thoughts Below!

