How to Handle: Snow Days

Winter. Nice for the month of December, when everyone is singing Christmas carols or lighting a menorah, and everyone gets to open presents after waiting only a few nail-biting weeks. Boring and tired for the months to come, when there are no big holidays or vacations to look forward to, and everyone is wishing the summer sun would just return already.

If you’re like me, and live up North somewhere, then you too will be familiar with the excited, nervous anticipation I get whenever the word “snow” appears on the news, in a conversation, or in the school announcements. School delays, or even better, cancellations are the highlight of the month and can raise my spirits through the roof. Waking up and hearing my parents say, “School is cancelled,” or discovering my school’s name in the sea of closings on any given weather site that sends a rush of adrenaline through my body that wakes me up even better than a nice travel mug of Dunkin Donuts coffee. Brushing off the consequential extra days in summer, I bask in the glory of sleeping in late and doing whatever I wanted within the confines of my warm house and snowy yard.

Snow days can be dangerous, though. The possibility of them can lull students into a false sense of security, causing them to procrastinate or stay up later than they normally would on a school night. Also, snow days can create a dull boredom that leaves you wanting to do anything else, even studying at school! Here are some of my personal tips for handling snow days:

1. Always do your homework the night before

I know that pushing off your homework to watch Netflix, go out with your friends, or do pretty much anything else that doesn’t involve Math and English seems like a great idea at the time. But even if the weatherman is insisting on snow for the next day, if your town hasn’t already scheduled tomorrow as cancelled, do your homework. There’s always the possibility that you’ll wake up to the startling panic that there’s still school, and wouldn’t you much rather do it the night before than have to rush in the morning or get a 0 on the assignment? I would. Even if there’s definitely no school the next day, it’s better to do some, if not all, of it so you don’t have to interrupt your relaxing snow day to concentrate on Chemistry, Spanish, or other mind-boggling work.

2. Set your alarm for the next day

I know people that have assumed there would be no school the next day, or at least a delay, and didn’t set their alarms, causing them to miss the bus, get a delayed start, and be late. And that is no fun for anyone. Not for the teacher, who has to to stop his/her lesson while you barge in. Not for the other students if they are trying to seriously work (if they’re just goofing off, you’re lateness will be greatly appreciated). Especially not for you, who has to walk in the room in the middle of class , tell the teacher why you’re late, and disturb your peers.

3. Don’t sleep in too late during school delays

Even if your school has a delay, its only around 90 minutes to 2 hours, so you still have to wake up much earlier than on the weekends. Remember to always re-set your alarm to an hour or two after you usually wake up so that you aren’t late to school.

4. Do not attempt to drive anywhere

I know this one should be obvious, but I’m going to say it anyway. If you have your license and schools in your area are closed, it’s most likely for a reason. It’s probably best if you put down the keys and just stay home, especially if it’s still snowing outside.

5. There’s always a cure for no-school boredom

If you’re like me and sometimes don’t feel like you’re doing anything unless it’s worthwhile or accomplishes something, you may feel bored during snow days. My parents are usually at work or refuse to drive me anywhere during days without school, so I have to make due with what’s in my house or yard. It’s usually mid-day that I feel the eagerness that makes me want to do something that gets me a step farther in life. While I might not be able to write a novel or paint a masterpiece every time I’m feeling bored, there are some things that I can and have done to rid myself of this feeling:

-Finish assignments, books, or television series.
-Doodle/draw/sketch. Even if you aren’t the best artist (like me), concentrating on a picture can occupy my mind for hours at a time.
-Watch a movie
-Play video games, board games, or games on tablets or smart phones. App games won’t typically take up a large amount of time, and some just make me feel even more bored, so don’t rely on them to cure your snow-day blues. I have a few choice favorites that I play a lot when I’m bored, including Flappy Bird and Candy Crush.
-Exercise. Maybe not the most fun thing to do for some people, but it definitely makes me feel like I’m achieving something and can put my mind at ease for doing a few other, lazier activities throughout the day
-Write. Sometimes when I’m bored, I continue to work on my unfinished novel or put my other book ideas down on paper.
-Blog! This blog, Handling High School, was actually started during one of my bouts of snow-day boredom and cured it entirely. It gave my day a purpose and occupied my mind for a long period of time.
-Play in the snow. Get on your snow pants and boots, because there are so many different activities to do outside in the snow! Build a fort or a snowman, make snow angels, or call your siblings or neighbors over to play! It’s the perfect way to get exercise and fresh air and to wash away your boredom!

Don’t forget that snow days can be loads of fun, so don’t feel too nervous or bored during delays and closings! Remember to savor those days because they are mid-week blessings that you will greatly miss during later months of slush and mud before Spring.

I would love to hear you thoughts on snow days, what you do to get rid of your boredom, and if there’s anything you want me to post next! Comment below, and if you liked this post, follow my blog Handling High School. Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “How to Handle: Snow Days

  1. Ahaa, its fastidious discussion about this paragraph here at this web site,
    I have read all that, so at his time me also comjmenting here Iwill right awzy seize your rss as I can not in finding ykur email subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please allow me recognise in order that I may just subscribe.

    Like

    • To follow my blog on a laptop, you click the icon with three bars at the too to open the sidebar, then click follow under the Follow Blog via Email header and enter your email address. To follow on a mobile device, you do NOT go to the “full site” option; instead, you stay on mobile site and scroll to the bottom of the home page, then enter your email under Follow Blog. Thanks!

      Like

  2. Personally,I think you could make this content better if
    you can add some pictures at first. By the way,does your sote have a contact page?
    I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you
    an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions ffor your blog you might be interested inn hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop
    over time. Thx for your share again.

    Like

  3. would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog iin 3 different internet browsers
    and I must say this blog loads a lot quuicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it! Many thanks. BTW, it will be more helpful if you will add my facebook back :
    )

    Like

  4. I love snow days! They’re the perfect time to relax during the week! This is super true, I’ve slept in past my alarm before during a delay even and missed the bus… Lol can you post something about your first day of high school next? Thanks!

    Like

Comment Your Thoughts Below!

